November 2014 Wrap-Up

Hi everyone! I decided to start doing a monthly wrap up of news, books I’ve read/reviewed, and what’s up and coming for Real Rad Reads. Finally, I’ll tell you about some of next month’s highly anticipated releases and movie/event news.

News:

So this month has been extremely busy for me: volleyball tryouts, school applications, Thanksgiving break (you’d think that would be relaxing but we had a lot of family and friends over almost every night! I had a lot of fun though), and of course, the obvious: reading. I’ve actually read 7 books this month, but only had time to review three. ūüė¶ November’s been a catch-up month for me, as I’m trying to start some new series and read the books that aren’t upcoming but have been on my TBR list for quite awhile. In terms of new releases, nothing’s really been highly anticipated this month for me, but December and the following months are full of exciting new reads I’m ready to get my hands on.

Reviewed this month:

~We All Looked Up~ by Tommy Wallach

~Famous Last Words~ by Katie Alender

~Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Recently bought/checked out from library:

Note: This section will be updated throughout the month, so keep checking back.

if i stay coverdon't touch coversince you've been gone cover

¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†If I Stay¬†¬†¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†¬†¬† ¬†Don’t Touch¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†Since You’ve Been Gone

dangerous girls coverpivot point coverthe winner's curse cover

Dangerous Girls¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†Pivot Point¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† The Winner’s Curse

the young elites covergirl online cover

 The Young Elites                                 Girl Online

I got most of these books from the library, but I also wanted to mention that I found the last two in hardcover from for a really cheap deal on BookOutlet.com¬†and I want to let everyone know that not only do they have amazingly cheap deals, but they are also having a 30% off sale with their Black Friday deals. I know that this post is late and that the deal ends on December 1st (tomorrow!), but I thought I’d let everyone know just in case someone wants to make a last minute click and buy some really good books. Book Outlet has a wide selection for teens, so if you’re looking for a gift for someone or just for a new read, I really recommend using it.

A look at the month ahead:

December has me seriously excited. First, CHRISTMAS, PEOPLE. I don’t think I have to explain that one. Secondly, there are some new releases (as mentioned above!) that have me like this:

elf excited gif

(A Christmas themed gif is necessary.)

For December, it’s not really the¬†number¬†of releases, it’s my¬†love¬†of certain releases (who am I kidding? It’s just one book I’m talking about here. If you’re a part of the publishing world, blogger community, or even just an avid reader in teen fiction, you’ll probably be able to predict the book I’m talking about…)

this shattered world cover

Yep, that’s right!¬†This Shattered World¬†publishes on December 23rd, and I am ready for more space adventure, sweet romance, and the best of all: A Tarver and Lilac cameo! If you haven’t read¬†These Broken Stars, the first book, I’d really recommend it if you’re a fan of sci-fi, space stories, creepy & cool plot twists, and forbidden romance. Each book in the Starbound Trilogy is about a different couple, set in the same science fiction and futuristic world, and I’m very excited for the whole trilogy and TV show to come out.

More anticipated reads include:

for real cover        and    top ten clues you're cluess cover

For Real¬†by Alison Cherry ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless ¬†by Liz Czukas

Both of these look like some really cute contemporary works from some new authors I haven’t read yet.

Movie/Event news:

mockingjay part 1 cover

I have officially seen Mockingjay Part 1 two times now (my friends tend to drag me to movies, even if I’ve seen them already with someone else). Personally, I thought Catching Fire was better, as it had more action and excitement. Mockingjay as a book wasn’t my favorite, I found it slow until the end. Still, though, I do think that everyone should watch the movie, and if you need any motivation, here are three things I really liked about it:

1.) Jennifer Lawrence sings! She’s actually quite good. Maybe she’ll start having her own concerts alongside acting too?

2.) The districts rebelling. These scenes tended to be more violent and action packed, which is pretty much the definition of the Hunger Games, so I was glad that Mockingjay wasn’t without these scenes.

3.) Great quotes and moments from Katniss. My favorite is Katniss’s “If we burn, you burn with us!”

Finally, a lot of trailers for YA movies have been released this month. Check them out below!

Insurgent¬†by Veronica Roth is being adapted in March. And guess what? My friend’s an extra.

The Duff by Kody Keplinger comes to the big screen on February 20th.

Pan (an adaptation of Peter Pan¬†by J.M. Barrie) is set to release on June 26th, 2015. I know what summer movie I’ll be seeing, as Peter Pan is my favorite Disney story.

Another fairy tale adaptation is Cinderella, coming March 13th, 2015 from Disney.

Finally, just for fun (and kicks) I’m putting the¬†Pitch Perfect 2 trailer in, even though it’s not related to any YA books.

So, what have you been reading this month and what are you anticipating to come out in December? Which movie from the trailers above are you most excited to see?

Thanks!

~Mary Claire

Sources:

Gif- mashable.com

Trailers- MOVIECLIPS Trailers, Disney Movie Trailers, and Warner Bros. Pictures

One thought on “November 2014 Wrap-Up

  1. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    AH DANGEROUS GIRLS IS GLORIOUS I HOPE YOU LOVE IT! The Winners Curse and Top Ten Clues are both fantastic too, I hope they both turn out to be enjoyable for you.

Leave a Reply

