Review: Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West

pivot point cover

Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1)

By: Kasie West

Publication: February 12th, 2013

Genre(s): Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance

Find it: ~Goodreads~Barnes & Noble~Amazon~

My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Perfect for fans of Sliding Doors, Kasie West’s riveting novel Pivot Point follows a girl with the power to see her potential futures.
Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, a special type of clairvoyant, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she is able to look into the future and see both outcomes. So when her parents tell her they are getting a divorce and she has to pick who she wants to live with, a Search has never been more important.In one future Addie is living with her mom in the life she’s always known and is being pursued by the most popular guy in school. In the other she is the new girl in school, where she falls for a cute, quiet artist. Then Addie finds herself drawn into a murder investigation, and her fate takes a darker turn. With so much to lose in either future, Addie must decide which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she’s willing to live without.

I can just feel Kasie West’s editors and agents going over this book and saying to themselves:

” Hmmm…maybe she should write contemporary romance too.” 

And she does.

When I read Pivot Point, I really enjoyed it, but found that the Addison’s relationships are actually the main point of most of the book: murder, her powers, her family…..yes, they were all there, but Pivot Point as a whole mostly about who Addison would choose and why.

I knew right away which boy she would pick, or at least, I knew which boy I’d pick. Without spoiling it for you, I’ll say this: there’s heart ache, romance, and tough decisions with both of the boys, so rest assured that Kasie West won’t make it completely obvious about who is right for Addison, and that there’s never an actual “love triangle” that ensues.

As for the actual plot of Pivot Point, I thought it was good, but not mind-blowing. I thought Kasie West navigated her paranormal world pretty well, making sure to write about how and why those like Addie with powers were never found out by normal people, and the extent of what Addie has never known about the normal world and how hard it is for her to adapt. What was going to happen slowly unraveled in my mind and I was able to connect the pieces a little faster than the plot matchedI felt a bit detached from some parts of the story. I did not really feel the thrills as the murders and mysteries happened, though the conclusion was still satisfying and left me wanting more in the next book, Split Second.

Summing up: With a contemporary feel,  Pivot Point displays Kasie West’s considerable writing skills, especially when it comes to the romantic relationships of her characters in her books. Though I liked On the Fence better, I recommend you read anything Kasie West writes, as she’s the Queen of Contemporary and Cuteness. Basically, any of her books will make you look and feel like this at least once:

so cute gif

Follow this blog.

Find me on Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Review: Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West

  1. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    Eeeee I’m glad that you enjoyed this one overall, girl. YES, Kasie West is queen of contemporary–she writes the best fluff omg.

    Nice review, hun! <33

    • MC says:

      Thanks, Mel! I am dying for Kasie’s newest book, I think it’s coming out in March of 2015? I need more smiles and fluff in my life for sure 😀

    • MC says:

      Yes! At first I thought Split Second was from the POV of her best friend and that the cliffhanger I was left with was the complete end of Addison’s story and I started freaking. Good thing that there’s more story left!

      Thanks for stopping by Real Rad REads.

Leave a Reply

