December 2014 Wrap-Up: On the set of the 5th Wave & More

My “wrap-up” posts are to talk about news on my blog, what I’ve been reading, and what’s going on in the YA world.

News

Hi everyone! I hope all of you are having great holidays and getting some new and amazing books from your wish lists. There’s been a lot of things going on here at Real Rad Reads, so I’ll take you through what’s been happening:

1) I am going to the set of the 5th Wave movie, based off of the best-selling novel by Rick Yancey and starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, and Alex Roe in January! I won the 5th Wave Set Visit contest on Instagram, and will be on set in Atlanta in a few weeks! I’m planning to write another post with more details before I leave for the set, so watch this space for more about the cast, book, and what I’ll be doing. Leave a comment if you have any questions about this, and I’ll answer your questions in my separate post.

2.) I’m currently in the process of finding a new design for Real Rad Reads, so I’m sorry for all of the changes that come randomly on this site. If you know of any good designers, please link their website in the comments, as I’m open to working with anyone. I hope that everyone likes the new design when it comes to life!

Reviewed this month:

~Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

~The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1) by Marie Lu

~If I Stay (If I Stay #1) by Gayle Forman

~Every Breath (Every #1) by Ellie Marney

~Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West

~Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

Recently brought/received:

Thanks to my mom for giving me the full Septimus Heap series!

septimus heap books

I also got my hands on the first copy of This Shattered World that was sold at the Barnes & Noble I visited (they didn’t even have them on the shelves yet!). I’m currently reading This Shattered World and loving it so far. Watch the blog for a review soon!

I also won Epic Read’s Instagram Giveaway, so thank you to them for sending me Get Even this week!

This Shattered World      Get Even (Don’t Get Mad #1)

this shattered world cover     get even cover

January 2015 Anticipated Reads:

There are so many great books kicking off the new year, it was so hard to choose my most anticipated release because they all look amazing!

Most anticipated read:

The Way We Bared Our Souls

the way we bared our souls cover

If you could trade your biggest burden for someone else’s, would you do it? Five teenagers sit around a bonfire in the middle of the New Mexico desert. They don’t know it yet, but they are about to make the biggest sacrifice of their lives.Lo has a family history of MS, and is starting to come down with all the symptoms. Thomas, a former child soldier from Liberia, is plagued by traumatic memories of his war-torn past. Kaya would do anything to feel physical pain, but a rare condition called CIP keeps her numb. Ellen can’t remember who she was before she started doing drugs. Kit lost his girlfriend in a car accident and now he just can’t shake his new found fear of death. When they trade totems as a symbol of shedding and adopting one another’s sorrows, they think it is only an exercise. But in the morning they wake to find their burdens gone….and replaced with someone else’s. As the reality of the ritual unfolds, this unlikely group of five embarks on a week of beautiful, terrifying experiences that all cultimate to one perfect truth: In the end, your soul is stronger than your burdens.

Why: When I read the synopsis for this book, my jaw dropped and stayed that way for a very long time. I instantly pre-ordered it after my mouth finally remembered how to close. How heartbreaking, beautiful, and amazing does this book look? I will definitely be checking the mail almost every day in January in hopes that I’ll find this book there, sitting there perfectly, ready for me to crack open.

Other anticipated reads:

The Conspiracy of Us           All The Bright Places                     When                        There Will Be Lies

the conspiracy of us cover        all the bright places goodreads cover        when goodreads cover  there will be lies cover

Movie news

The Insurgent trailer is finally here and I’ve been hearing a lot of mixed reactions. Some are saying that everything in the trailer never really happened in the book, while others are still anticipating the movie release all the same. What do you think? Leave a comment blow!

Tracers is based off a book that’s actually publishing this month. I was a little skeptical that they started filming the movie before the book was already released, but from what I can see of the trailer, this is going to be a thriller full of gang violence. I don’t really think this is the type of movie for me, so I don’t plan on seeing it.

IF YOU WATCH ANY OF THESE TRAILERS, WATCH THIS ONE!! I know that Love, Rosie is not a young adult book and that the movie is rated R, but it looks so adorable, I couldn’t help myself. I’ve been watching this trailer on repeat, and if you watch it, I promise your jaw will hurt from smiling so much.

That’s all for this month! Feel free to leave comments or questions below about books, this blog, my up-coming trip to the set of the 5th Wave etc. I’d love to hear from you!

~MC

Leave a Reply

