2014 Real Rad Reads: 5 Authors Who Made My Year (and all of their books you should read)

2014 is ending, so I’m giving you a look at some of my favorite authors and their books, whether already published or forth-coming.

Check out my favorite 5 authors of 2014 (and all of their books!):

1. Angie Sage:

angie-sage author picWhat she writes: Septimus Heap, A best-selling middle grade seven book series about wizards, princesses, and a magical world you won’t want to leave. Also known as my favorite series in the world.

The latest from her: Pathfinder, the first in the Todhunter Moon series, a spin-off trilogy from the original Septimus Heap series. Check out my review here.

What’s coming in 2015: SandRider, the 2nd book in the Todhunter Moon trilogy will most likely publish sometime in October like Pathfinder did. To say I’m excited is a huge understatement.

Her books (in pictures):

septimus heap books

         

2. Rick Yancey

rick yancey image What he writes: A science fiction, action, and alien-killing filled trilogy called The 5th Wave.

The latest from him: The Infinite Sea, sequel to The 5th Wave published this year, and it was mind-blowing in the best way possible. You can hear more of my fan-girl rant over this book with my review of it here, and if you haven’t read the 5th Wave, I’ve got a non-spoiler review here.

What’s coming in 2015: Rick Yancey is currently writing the final book in the trilogy. It’s untitled with no synopsis, cover, or release date 😦 All I know is that it’s Rick Yancey, so most likely, all of his characters are going to be blown up in some way.

All of his books (in pictures)

the 5th wave goodreads the infinite sea book cover goodreads

3. Marissa Meyer

marissa meyer

What she writes: An amazing science-fiction and fairy-tale retelling series called the Lunar Chronicles.

The Latest from her: Cressthe third book in the series, published this year. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve heard it is spectacular! You can check out my review of Cinder, the first book here and my review of Scarlet, the second book, here.

What’s coming in 2015: Fairest, a novella in the point of view of Queen Levana, the villain of the series and Winter, the fourth and final book.

All of her books (in pictures):

Cinder coverscarlet goodreads covercress cover

4. Abigail Haas (Abby McDonald)

abigail haasWhat she writes: Thrilling, scary,  twisted, and messed-up (in a good way) mystery novels. Dangerous Girls was one of my favorite reads of the year. Check out my review here.

The latest from her: Dangerous Boys was published in e-book form only in the US sometime in August. I’m dying to read her next book (high on my “to read” list) because Dangerous Girls rocked my world (again, in a good way).

What’s coming from her in 2015: Nothing! No books have been added, nothing new on her blog. Come on, Abby! I’d read it if it was called Dangerous Cats!

Her books (in pictures):

dangerous girls coverdangerous boys cover

5. Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

amie kaufmanmegan spooner  What they write: Love stories set in space that are a part of their awesome Starbound Trilogy.

The latest from them: This Shattered Worldthe second book in the trilogy, has just been released and I’m currently reading (and loving) it.

What’s coming in 2015: The final book in the trilogy comes in 2015, as does Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s  first book in their new series,  Illuminae.

Their books (in pictures):

these broken stars gooreads coverthis shattered world cover

Who were your favorite authors of 2014? leave a comment below!

Picture sources:

Angie Sage: theinkypages.wordpress.com

Rick Yancey: www.lightspeedmagazine.com

Marissa Meyer: www.barnesandnoble.com

Abigail Haas: her twitter

Amie Kaufman: her twitter

Meagan Spooner: www.amazon.com

3 thoughts on “2014 Real Rad Reads: 5 Authors Who Made My Year (and all of their books you should read)

  1. Faye M. says:

    Wheee, Abigail Haas! Marissa Meyer! Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner! Many of my favorite authors are on here ❤ Glad to see that they made your reading life a positive one, too as they did mine 😀 I can't wait to read more of their stories… the ones they have now blow my mind away and I can't even imagine what else they're going to dish out!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  2. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    Heck yes these authors are all so fabulous! Abigail Haas needs to write more Dangerous books. Maybe Dangerous Animals or something SHE JUST NEEDS TO WRITE MORE THRILLER BOOKS. Yes, The Infinite Sea was brilliant too. Honestly, I cannot wait for book 3!

    Happy New Year, girl! <33

  3. Stormi D Johnson says:

    So sitting on my shelf forever has been Magyk, so I guess maybe I should give it some love. I just recently read Cinder so I agree with that one..I still need to read the rest. I was just told about These Broken Stars being on sale so I picked it up even though I am not sure if it is my type or not..not a huge sci-fi fan but trying to branch out. The other two authors I don’t know much about. 🙂 My favorite must read author is Alyxandra Harvey and her Lovegrove Legacy is my favorite reads of last year. 🙂

    Happy New Year!
    Stormi
    Books, Movies, Reviews. Oh my!

Leave a Reply

