Real Rad Interviews: Lisa Aldin talks boys, highschool, and her debut YA novel, ONE OF THE GUYS!

I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to interview the lovely Lisa Aldin about her new YA contemporary novel, One of the Guys. Find out more about her debut YA novel below, and then check out the interview full of boy advice, tomboy talk, and Lisa’s writing experiences.

The Book:

one of the guys coverOne of the Guys

By: Lisa Aldin

Publication: February 10th, 2015

Genre(s): Young Adult, Contemporary, Coming-of-age

Find it: ~Goodreads~Amazon~B&N~

 Tomboy to the core, Toni Valentine understands guys. She’ll take horror movies, monster hunts and burping contests over manicures. So Toni is horrified when she’s sent to the Winston Academy for Girls, where she has to wear a skirt and learn to be a lady while the guys move on without her.
Then Toni meets Emma Elizabeth, a girl at school with boy troubles, and she volunteers one of her friends as a pretend date. Word spreads of Toni’s connections with boys, and she discovers that her new wealthy female classmates will pay big money for fake dates. Looking for a way to connect her old best friends with her new life at school, Toni and Emma start up Toni Valentine’s Rent-A-Gent Service.
But the business meets a scandal when Toni falls for one of her friends–the same guy who happens to be the most sought-after date. With everything she’s built on the line, Toni has to decide if she wants to save the business and her old life, or let go of being one of the guys for a chance at love.

About the Author:

lisa aldin Lisa Aldin graduated from Purdue University with a B.A. in English Literature. She now lives in Indianapolis, Indiana with her husband and daughter. ONE OF THE GUYS is her debut novel.

Twitter: @LisaAldin

Tumblr: http://delicatelittlebursts.tumblr.com

Website: https://lisaaldin.wordpress.com

The Interview:

Q: What was it like when you found out that One of the Guys was going to be published? What do you want readers to take from your debut novel?

Lisa says:  Oh, gosh. IT WAS THE BEST PHONE CALL EVER! I’d like for readers to have fun while reading ONE OF THE GUYS. I hope it’s an uplifting read. I hope people have a smile on their face when they finish it!

Q: In One of the Guys, Toni Valentine, our main character, is a total tomboy. Are you a tomboy or where you ever a tomboy? 

 Lisa says: I’ve never been huge fan of skirts. =) But sometimes it’s nice to get dressed up and get a pedicure. So I think I’m a mix of a tomboy and girlie girl. Sometimes it just depends on my mood!

Q: What is your advice for girls on boys, whether friends or crushes? 

Lisa says: Tough one! This is sort of cliche but I’d say just try to be true to yourself. Don’t make yourself into someone you’re not because you want to impress anyone. Also, honesty. Try to be honest.

Q:Did you have more guy or girl friends in high school? What’s your most embarrassing/silliest boy story?

Lisa says: I had a group of girl friends in high school. And I had a series of crushes, none of which went anywhere. I think they all remained pretty secret, actually. So I don’t really have many boy stories from high school! Ha. I guess I kinda watched from a distance! I didn’t really start dating until college, which suited me.

Q:What is your advice for teen writers? 

Lisa says: If you write, you’re a writer. Read and write and never stop working at it!

Q: Finally, do you have anymore upcoming projects? Can you share any exciting new details?
 

Lisa says: I’m working on a major revision for a novel right now. And I’ve got ideas for more! I don’t have details yet, as nothing is finished, but I hope to publish more in the future!!

The Giveaway:

The rules:

-No cheating!

-Must be 13 years or older. If younger, we ask that you have permission from your parent or guardian to enter.

-This is not an international giveaway. Entries from the U.S. only!

-If you are chosen as the winner, you will receive an email from me. Your prize will be sent to you as soon as possible.

Go forth and enter!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 thoughts on “Real Rad Interviews: Lisa Aldin talks boys, highschool, and her debut YA novel, ONE OF THE GUYS!

  1. acordaro64 says:

    My most embarrassing crush moment.. Hmm I was in high school and I wasn’t allowed to date so I started “in school” dating a boy I had liked for years. Well, when word got around I had a boyfriend it turned out I had other “admirers” and one of them would non stop call me and my mom answered my phone and he went on crying to her that I wouldn’t date him and all this crazy stuff and my mom actually told him that I didn’t have permission to date anyway and he flipped out saying I had a boyfriend and my mom just stared at me with this boy crying on the phone to her and the next day there was a pineapple left on my porch.. Because its my favorite fruit.. My siblings loved that. Still hear about that to this day. He just left a pineapple on my porch…

  2. Carol Riggs says:

    Thanks for the fun interview! Looks like a great book. My fave contemp YA love story…the first one off the top of my head is THE GHOST AND THE GOTH by Stacey Kade. Lots of fun humor in that one, and good character change too!

Leave a Reply

